Connect with us

Cricket News

Edward Moore Joins South Africa Test Squad for New Zealand Tour

South Africa has added opening batter Edward Moore to their Test team for next month’s two-Test series against New Zealand. The trip group now has 15 players, with Moore being the eighth player who has never played for his country.

Tony de Zorzi received a call-up, but Edward Moore was eventually chosen due to his SA20 deal with Durban’s Super Giants. Although De Zorzi initially slated to be an opener for the New Zealand series. and fulfilled that role in the A-team games against West Indies. He is ineligible to participate in the series. This is a result of CSA rules mandating players to fulfill their SA20 duties before being eligible for international cricket.

Moore’s Inclusion

Moore is a domestic cricket veteran with 117 first-class appearances. An average of over 40 runs scored in red-ball matches. As of now, he ranked seventh in the first-class competition with 414 runs scored at an average of 51.57 this season. He will most likely join uncapped captain Neil Brand in opening the proceedings.

South Africa’s Early Departure

South Africa will depart for New Zealand on Friday. More than two weeks before the first Test, to give themselves time to familiarise with conditions ahead of the series. The two Tests are part of the 2023-2025 WTC cycle, where South Africa lies third after one series.

They drew 1-1 with India over the festive period with a full-strength squad. Given the clash with the SA20, South Africa has opted to send a makeshift Test side to New Zealand after attempts to have the series moved were unsuccessful

SA Test Squad

Neil Brand (captain), David Bedingham, Ruan de Swardt, Clyde Fortuin, Zubayr Hamza, Tshepo Moreki, Edward Moore, Mihlali Mpongwana, Duanne Olivier, Dane Paterson, Keegan Petersen, Dane Piedt, Raynard van Tonder, Shaun von Berg, Khaya Zondo

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Abhi1

    January 17, 2024 at 8:24 am

    is it really true !

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket News