ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Super League: A Comprehensive Overview

ICC Cricket World Cup Super League

The 2020-23 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League was the inaugural edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup Super League, an ODI league. The league ran from July 2020 to May 2023 and was part of the qualification process for the 2023 Cricket World Cup. Prior to this competition, top teams qualified based on their ICC Rankings.

The league featured 13 thirteen teams, 12 full-member nations, and the Netherlands who won the 2015-17 Super League Competition which earned them a place in the ICC World Cup Super League 2020-2023. As the hosts, India received automatic qualification for the World Cup.

Every team in the competition was scheduled to play an ODI series against any 8 of the other 12 teams. Four home series and four away series, each with at least three One-Day Internationals (ODIs).

Format Of The Competition

ICC Cricket World Cup Super League Format


The tournament was played in the Round-Robin format and lasted for around 3 years. Each team was slated to play a maximum of 24 matches, including 12 home, and 12 away games. The points were awarded as follows:

Win– 10 Points

No Result– 5 Points

Loss– 0 Points

ICC Cricket World Cup Super League Points Table

All the teams which didn’t qualify for the ICC World Cup 2023 will get another chance as they will play World Cup Qualifiers, starting from 18th June. World Cup Qualifiers will be played in Zimbabwe, a total of 10 teams will compete for a place in the 2023 ICC World Cup in India and only two will book a ticket for India.

TeamMatchesWinslostDrawNRPointsNRRPenalty Overs
New Zealand (Qualified)2416503175+0.914
England (Qualified)2415801155+0.976
Bangladesh (Qualified)2415801155+0.220
India (Hosts)2113602139+0.7821
Pakistan (Qualified)2113800130+0.108
Australia (Qualified)1812600120+0.785
Afghanistan (Qualified)1511301115+0.573
South Africa (Qualified)219102298-0.0772
West Indies249150088-0.7382
Sri Lanka247140381-0.3694

ICC Cricket World Cup Super League Top Run-Scorers

Babar Azam in CWC Super League

Babar Azam (PAK)2121145476.5293.8696
Harry Tector (IRE)2424106255.8982.9073
Paul Stirling (IRE)232399143.0887.3134
Shai Hope (WI)202085545.0077.7943
Fakhar Zaman (PAK)191982743.5286.6824

ICC Cricket World Cup Super League Top Wicket-Takers

Adam Zampa ICC CWC Super League

Adam Zampa (AUS)18184119.734.98
Akeal Hosein (WI)23234023.924.50
Alzari Joseph (WI)22223426.384.56
Craig Young (IRE)21193228.785.65
Josh Little (IRE)21193229.785.64

Related Articles


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *