ICC ODI World Cup Winners List From 1975-2023

ICC ODI World Cup Winners List

The first ever Cricket World Cup was played in 1975 in England in the 60-over format, which was later changed to 50-over in 1987 and has been played in the 50-over format ever since. The Cricket World Cup has seen six different winners in its twelve editions, with Australia being the most successful team. The World Cup takes place after every four years, and the 13th edition of the mega event is set to be played in October-November 2023. This article will look at all the ICC ODI World Cup winners list from 1975-2023.

Also Read:

ODI World Cup Winners List

Since its inception in 1975, World Cup has witnessed thrilling encounters, nail-biting finishes, and moments of cricketing brilliance. The World Cup has been a stage where legends are born, dreams are realized, and nations come together in pursuit of cricketing glory. Let’s take a look at the journey of all the World Cup winners.

1. 1975 World Cup – West Indies

West Indies in the 1975 World Cup

West Indies won the first-ever World Cup in 1975 and continued their dominance in the world of cricket. They justified their stature by beating Australia in the final of the inaugural World Cup under the leadership of the great Sir Clive Lloyd.

2. 1979 World Cup – West Indies

West Indies in 1979

The West Indies continued their reign as world champions by successfully defending their title in the 1979 ODI World Cup. They defeated England at Lord’s to become the back-to-back champions.

3. 1983 World Cup – India

India 1983 World Cup Victory

The third edition of the World Cup held in England brought about a historic moment in cricketing history. India, led by the resilient Kapil Dev, stunned the world by winning their first-ever World Cup. They did the impossible by defeating the two-time champions, West Indies, in a thrilling final at Lord’s.

4. 1987 World Cup – Australia

Australian Cricket Team in 1987

Australia clinched their first of many ICC trophies in 1987 as they defeated the arch-rivals England in a thrilling final at Eden Gardens, Kolkata. This was also the first World Cup to be held outside England.

5. 1992 World Cup – Pakistan

1992 World Cup Winners

The 1992 World Cup, hosted by Australia and New Zealand, witnessed a miracle as Pakistan won the World Cup. Pakistan defeated England in the final at Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) to secure their maiden World Cup title.

6. 1996 World Cup – Sri Lanka

1996 ODI World Cup Winners

The 1996 World Cup, co-hosted by India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka, saw Sri Lanka emerge as the champions. Led by Arvinda De Silva’s explosive knock of 107*, Sri Lanka defeated Australia in the final to clinch their first-ever World Cup and became the third team from Asia to win the cricket World Cup.

7. 1999 World Cup – Australia

1999 ODI World Cup Winners

Australia, under the captaincy of Steve Waugh, claimed their second World Cup Victory in 1999. The Tournament, held in England, saw the mighty Australians defeat star-studded Pakistan in a one-sided final, and Australia’s dominance truly started from that point onwards.

8. 2003 World Cup – Australia

2003 ICC ODI World Cup Winners

Australia continued their dominant run in the World Cup, securing their third title in 2003. The tournament, co-hosted by South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Kenya, witnessed Australia defeat India in a one-sided final to reaffirm their status as the world’s best.

9. 2007 World Cup – Australia

2007 ODI World Cup Winner

The 2007 World Cup, held in the Caribbean, saw Australia extend their winning streak by claiming their fourth title. They defeated Sri Lanka in the final, which was marred by rain interruptions, to become the first team to win three consecutive World Cups.

10. 2011 World Cup – India

India, 2011 Cricket World Cup Winner

India once again captured the cricketing world’s attention by winning the World Cup after 28 years under the captaincy of cool and calm Mahendra Singh Dhoni. India defeated Sri Lanka in the final in front of the home crowd in Mumbai.

11. 2015 World Cup – Australia

Australian cricket team, 2015 World Cup Winner

In 2015, Australia showcased their dominance yet again, securing their fifth World Cup title. Co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand, the tournament witnessed Australia defeating New Zealand at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).

12. 2019 World Cup – England

2019 Cricket World Cup Winner

The 2019 World Cup, hosted by England and Wales, witnessed a nail-biting finale that ultimately led to England’s maiden World Cup victory, and the wait of 44 years finally ended.

YearHostWinnerRunner Up
1975EnglandWest IndiesAustralia
1979EnglandWest IndiesEngland
1983EnglandIndiaWest Indies
1987India and PakistanAustraliaEngland
1992Australia and New ZealandPakistanEngland
1996Pakistan, India, and Sri LankaSri LankaAustralia
2003South Africa, Zimbabwe, and KenyaAustraliaIndia
2007CarribeanAustraliaSri Lanka
2011India, Bangladesh, and Sri LankaIndiaSri Lanka
2015Australia and New ZealandAustraliaNew Zealand
2019England and WalesEnglandNew Zealand
List of all the ODI World Cup Winners

List of ICC World Cup Winning Captains

The ICC Cricket World Cup is not only a battleground for the best cricketing nations but also a platform for exceptional leadership. Let’s delve into the history of the World Cup and explore the captains who have lifted the coveted trophy.

YearWinning Captain
1975Clive Lloyd (West Indies)
1979Clive Lloyd (West Indies)
1983Kapil Dev (India)
1987Allan Border (Australia)
1992Imran Khan (Pakistan)
1996Arjuna Ranatunga (Sri Lanka)
1999Steve Waugh (Australia)
2003Ricky Ponting (Australia)
2007Ricky Ponting (Australia)
2011MS Dhoni (India)
2015Michael Clarke (Australia)
2019Eoin Morgan (England)

The ICC ODI World Cup winners list from 1975 to 2023 is a testament to the rich history and legacy of this prestigious cricket tournament. From the early dominance of the West Indies to the Australian era of supremacy and the rise of other cricketing powerhouses, each World Cup has produced memorable moments, outstanding performances, and remarkable leadership.

Read More:

Pujara’s Spot in Danger

Related Articles


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *