ICC World Test Championship 2021-2023 Final: All You Need To Know

World Test Championship 2021-2023 Final

ICC World Test Championship 2021-2023 is about to conclude with an exciting battle between India and Australia. The stage is set, anticipation is high, and cricket fans around the world are eagerly awaiting the culmination of the World Test Championship (WTC) 2021-2023. Introduced in 2019 by the International Cricket Council (ICC), the WTC aimed to bring a new level of excitement and context to Test Cricket. Now, as its second season draws to a close, the top two teams, India and Australia, are preparing to face off in a historic final to determine the ultimate champion of Test cricket. This article’ll delve into all the details surrounding the WTC 2023 Final.

Format and Inception of The World Test Championship

The ICC introduced the WTC in 2019 as an initiative to revive and rejuvenate Test cricket. Realizing the need to bring relevance and meaning to every Test match, the ICC devised a two-year tournament involving 9 teams that would culminate in a final to crown the best Test team in the world. The inaugural season of the WTC spanned from August 2019 to June 2021, and New Zealand won the first edition as they defeated India in the WTC 2019-2021 Finals.

New Zealand after winning the 2019-2021 World Test Championship

The WTC format follows a points-based system, where each team competes in a series of Test matches against different opponents. Twelve points are awarded for a win, four for a draw, and six for a tie. The top two teams with the highest percentage of points earned during the stipulated period qualify for the final showdown.

World Test Championship 2021-2023 Points Table

South Africa15861010055.56
Sri Lanka1256106444.44
New Zealand1346306038.46
West Indies1347205434.62

WTC 2021-2023 Statistics

119 centuries and 16032 runs have been scored by various batters in the ongoing WTC. Let’s find out the top 5 WTC 2021-2023 run-scorers.

Joe Root22401915180*53.1968
Usman Khawaja16281608195*69.9176
Babar Azam1426152719661.08104
M Labuschagne1933150920453.8955
J Bairstow1528128516251.4026

We have seen some top spells from bowlers across the WTC matches. Let’s find out the top 5 WTC 2021-2023 wicket-takers.

Nathan Lyon19328326.978/64
Kagiso Rabada13226721.056/50
R Ashwin13266119.676/91
James Anderson15285820.375/60
Ollie Robinson13255320.755/49

The Road To The Finals

Virat Kohli Vs Pat Cummins in the WTC 2021-2023 Final

Both India and Australia have displayed exceptional skills and resilience throughout the WTC journey, securing their places in the final. Over the course of the tournament, these teams faced formidable opponents and triumphed in various challenging conditions.

India, with their perfect blend of experienced stalwarts and emerging talents, conquered their home series against Sri Lanka and Australia. They also put up remarkable performances on away tours against England and Bangladesh.

Australia, known for its exceptional bowling attack and solid batting lineup, displayed its traditional grit and determination in the WTC 2021-2023 cycle. They secured home victories against England and West Indies while also showcasing their mettle on away tours against Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

Important Updates

  • Jasprit Bumrah, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, and Rishabh Pant have been officially ruled out of the WTC 2021-2023 Final.
  • Josh Hazelwood has recovered from the injury and will be available for selection against India in the WTC Final.
  • Ajinkya Rahane has returned to India’s Test side.

Squads For The World Test Championship 2021-2023 Final


  1. Rohit Sharma (Captain)
  2. Virat Kohli
  3. Cheteshwar Pujara
  4. Shubman Gill
  5. Ajinkya Rahane
  6. KS Bharat (WK)
  7. Ravichandran Ashwin
  8. Ravindra Jadeja
  9. Axar Patel
  10. Shardul Thakur
  11. Mohammad Shami
  12. Mohammad Siraj
  13. Umesh Yadav
  14. Jaydev Unadkat
  15. Ishan Kishan-KL Rahul’s replacement


  1. Pat Cummins (Captain)
  2. Steve Smith (Vice-Captain)
  3. Scott Boland
  4. Josh Hazelwood
  5. Mitchell Starc
  6. Nathan Lyon
  7. David Warner
  8. Alex Carey (WK)
  9. Cameron Green
  10. Marcus Harris
  11. Travis Head
  12. Josh Inglis
  13. Todd Murphy
  14. Usman Khawaja
  15. Matthew Renshaw
  16. Marnus Labuschagne
  17. Mitchell Marsh

WTC 2021-2023 Final Venue, Date, and Timings

The Oval Cricket Ground Is Ready to Host WTC 2021-2023 Final

The World Test Championship 2021-2023 Final is set to take place from 7-11th June 2023 at The Oval, which is situated in South London, England. This grand event holds tremendous significance as it marks the conclusion of two years of intense competition and serves as a platform to celebrate the longest and purest form of cricket.

Related Articles


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  1. I do not even know the way I finished up here, however I believed this publish
    was great. I don’t recognize who you might
    be however certainly you are going to a well-known blogger if you aren’t already.


    Also visit my web site :: vpn coupon 2024