Connect with us

Cricket News

Lahore Qalandars won the PSL 2023 final by defeating Multan Sultans

Lahore Qalandars won the Pakistan Super League final by just one run against Multan Sultans at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium. This made them the first team to successfully defend their title and take the trophy home. Multan Sultans almost achieved their target of 201 runs, but they lost by one run.

The Qalandars got a quick start, scoring 34 runs in the first three overs. However, Ihsanullah’s sharp short ball dismissed their opener, Tahir Baig, after scoring 30 runs in 18 balls. This wicket, along with some excellent bowling, helped the Sultans slow down the run rate. At the halfway mark, Lahore was at 82-1. Shafique picked up the pace towards the end of the innings and scored 65 runs in 40 balls, hitting eight fours and two sixes. Shaheen Afridi also contributed significantly, scoring 44 runs off just 15 balls, taking the Qalandars’ target to over 200. Usama Mir was the pick of the bowlers for the Sultans with figures of 3-24 in three overs.

David Wiese provided the breakthrough by dismissing opener Usman Khan in the fourth over. Rilee Rossouw and Mohammad Rizwan stitched an impressive partnership of 64 runs, but Rossouw was dismissed by Rashid Khan when he threatened to take the game away from Qalandars.

Shaheen bagged three wickets in his final over to put his side in a solid position to win the match. Zaman Khan held his nerve to get his team over the line in the final over of the match.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket News