Connect with us

Cricket News

Angelo Mathews Returns to T20I Squad After Three-Year Hiatus

Angelo Mathews will play his first T20I in almost three years now that he is in Sri Lanka’s T20I team for the series against Zimbabwe. Also in the squad are batters Kusal Perera and Dhananjaya de Silva, who are not in the squad for the ongoing ODIs, as well as spinner Akila Dananjaya, round-arm seam bowler Nuwan Thushara, and batting allrounder Kamindu Mendis.

Hasaranga’s Captaincy Debut

This will be Wanindu Hasaranga’s first series as captain. There is still a spot in the squad for previous captain Dasun Shanaka.

Starter Avishka Fernando, top batters Nuwanidu Fernando and Janith Liyanage, who was Player of the Match in the second ODI against Zimbabwe, are not in this group. The all-rounder Dunith Wellalage, the seamer Pramod Madushan, and the legspinner Jeffrey Vandersay are also not in the team. After being taken to the hospital last week with what was thought to be dengue, Pathum Nissanka was named subject to fitness.

These three T20Is will mark Sri Lanka’s earnest preparation for the T20 World Cup to be held later this year. Sri Lanka only played seven T20Is in 2023.

All three T20Is will be played at Kettarama, on January 14, 16 and 18.

Sri Lanka squad:

Wanindu Hasaranga (capt), Charith Asalanka, Kusal Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Kusal Perera, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Pathum Nissanka, Maheesh Theekshana, Dushmantha Chameera, Dilshan Madushanka, Matheesha Pathirana, Nuwan Thushara, Akila Dananjaya.



  1. sohil

    January 11, 2024 at 7:20 am

    wohhh! such interesting to hear this ,

  2. Param

    January 11, 2024 at 7:33 am

    cant wait to see see his action

  3. sandeep1

    January 11, 2024 at 8:39 am

    It’s great to see him return after 3 years ,

  4. Rajdeep

    January 11, 2024 at 8:48 am

    y does he heed to return.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket News