Connect with us


The Ultimate Guide To The Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR):

The Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) is an IPL franchise based in Kolkata, India. Founded in 2008, KKR is one of the eight founding teams of the Indian Premier League (IPL). Since then, KKR has been a significant part of the IPL and has established a fan base not only in India but also worldwide. KKR is owned by the Bollywood actor Shah Rukh Khan’s company, Red Chillies Entertainment, in partnership with actress Juhi Chawla and her spouse, Jay Mehta. The team’s brand value is estimated to be around $1.1 billion, making it the third most valuable franchise in the IPL. KKR’s fan engagement is exceptional, with a massive fan base of approximately 25 million followers across various social media platforms.


KKR Home Stadium

KKR’s home ground is the iconic Eden Gardens stadium in Kolkata. The stadium, with a capacity of 68,000 spectators, is one of the largest stadiums in India and is among the oldest cricket grounds in the world. KKR has an outstanding record at Eden Gardens, winning many crucial matches in front of their home crowd.


Logo Of KKR

The KKR logo features a knight wearing a helmet with the Kolkata skyline in the background. The knight in the logo represents bravery, courage, and honor, which are the core values of the KKR team.



KKR-MI Rivalry

KKR vs. MI is one of the most fierce and oldest rivalries in the IPL. The Mumbai Indians are the most successful IPL club with five titles, but until Mumbai’s third title, both sides were tied with two titles. At one time, both teams were led by Indian cricket legends. (Sachin Tendulkar captained Mumbai, and Sourav Ganguly captained Kolkata.) However, MI dominates this rivalry, winning 22 of the 31 encounters and losing only nine. 

KKR-RCB Rivalry

This rivalry began in the first match of the initial season of the IPL, when KKR trounced RCB by 140 runs, thanks to Brendon McCullum’s 158* of 73. In 2017, KKR bowled RCB out for 49 runs while defending 131 runs, which is the lowest team total in the history of IPL. Both sides have been involved in numerous thrilling encounters in the IPL over the years, making the rivalry more exciting and popular.

Best Season

KKR’s best season in the IPL was in 2012, when they lifted their maiden IPL trophy. Gautam Gambhir led the team, and they won the final against Chennai Super Kings in a close encounter. Sunil Narine, the West Indian spinner, was KKR’s most valuable player that season, taking 24 wickets and winning the Player Of The Tournament award.


Worst Season

KKR’s worst season in the IPL was in 2009, when they finished at the bottom of the points table, winning only three out of fourteen matches.

Overall record In IPL

KKR has played a total of 224 matches in the IPL, winning 113 and losing 107, with two tied and two no-result games. They have a win percentage of 51.33%, making them one of the most consistent teams in the IPL. KKR has won the IPL trophy twice, in 2012 and 2014, and made it to the playoffs seven times.

Greatest Players

Name Duration Contribution
Gautam Gambhir 2011-2017 3345 Runs
Robin Uthappa 2014-2019 2649 Runs
Brendon McCullum 2008-2013 958 Runs
Yusuf Pathan 2011-2017 2061 Runs
Andre Russell 2014-Present 2077 Runs & 90 Wickets
Sunil Narine 2012-Present 1033 Runs & 171 Wickets
Shakib Al Hasan 2011-2021 590 Runs & 48 Wickets
Jacques Kallis 2011-2014 1603 Runs & 48 Wickets
Umesh Yadav 2014-Present 65 Wickets


KKR Team For 2023

KKR has a strong team for the 2023 IPL season, with many talented players in their ranks. The young Indian batter Nitish Rana takes over as captain in place of the injured Shreyas Iyer. The team also features star players like Russell, Narine, Southee, Ferguson, and Liton Das. The franchise will be hoping to win its third IPL trophy in 2023 and add to its already impressive cabinet of trophies.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in IPL