The Ultimate Guide To The Punjab Kings (PBKS):

Punjab Kings, formerly known as Kings XI Punjab, is a franchise team that participates in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The team is based in Mohali, Punjab, and represents the state of Punjab in the IPL. It is one of the eight founding teams in the IPL and has been an essential part of the league since its inception in 2008.

Punjab Kings Ownership

Preity Zinta, Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, and Karan Paul are the co-owners of Punjab Kings. The franchise has yet to win an IPL trophy and has made the playoffs only twice in 15 years.

Preity Zinta Punjab Kings
Preity Zinta


Fan Base And Brand Value

Punjab Kings has a large fanbase worldwide. They have around 14.5 million followers on their social media accounts. The team has a brand value of $925 million, which makes them the 9th most valuable team in the competition.

PBKS Home Stadium

The Punjab Kings’ home stadium is the PCA Stadium in Mohali, Punjab. The stadium has a seating capacity of 26,000 and has hosted several IPL matches since the league’s inception. The stadium has also hosted international cricket matches, including the 2011 World Cup semi-final between India and Pakistan. At the same time, HPCA Stadium in Dharamshala has also served as the home venue of the Punjab Kings on some occasions.

Mohali Stadium
Mohali Stadium


Punjab Kings Logo

The Punjab Kings’ logo has gone through several changes over the years. The current logo features a lion with the franchise’s name on the top. The lion represents strength and courage, and the colors used in the logo, red and gold, represent loyalty and success.

Punjab Kings Logo
Punjab Kings Logo



PBKS-KKR Rivalry

The rivalry between PBKS and KKR began in 2008, when they squared off twice, with both games ending in close finishes. The two franchises’ several close matches, notably the 2014 IPL Final, which KKR won by three wickets, are what started the rivalry with KKR. The fact that Preity Zinta owns PBKS and Shah Rukh Khan owns KKR makes this competition much more intriguing. 32 IPL matches between KKR and PBKS have been played, with KKR winning 20 and PBKS winning 12.

PBKS-RR Rivalry

PBKS vs. RR is one of the most exciting rivalries in the recent past, and it is often overlooked. The recent games between the two teams have been breathtaking, and fans of both sides refer to this rivalry as “El Classico 2.0.” However, RR leads PBKS 14-11.

Best Season

PBKS’ best season in the IPL came in 2014 when they finished runners-up. George Bailey led the team, and Glenn Maxwell was their star player, scoring 552 runs in the tournament at a strike rate of nearly 188. The team won 11 out of their 14 matches in the league stage and made it to the finals, where KKR defeated them in a thrilling contest.

Worst Season

After having a nearly perfect season in 2014, Punjab Kings’ worst IPL season occurred in 2015. They finished at the bottom of the table, winning only three out of the fourteen games, and struggled with consistency throughout the season.

Punjab Kings Overall Record In IPL

Punjab Kings have played 220 matches in the IPL, winning 100 and losing 116. The team has a win percentage of 46.36 in the tournament.

Greatest Players

The following table lists the greatest PBKS players

Name Duration Contribution
KL Rahul 2018-2021 2548 Runs
Shaun Marsh 2008-2017 2477 Runs
David Miller 2012-2019 1974 Runs
Glenn Maxwell 2014-2020 1383 Runs
Piyush Chawla 2008-2013 84 Wickets
Sandeep Sharma 2013-2022 73 Wickets
Axar Patel 2014-2018 740 Runs & 69 Wickets
Mitchell Johnson 2014-2016 28 Wickets
Irfan Pathan 2008-2010 47 Wickets



Punjab Kings are already off to a flying start in the league, winning both of their first two games and are currently at second place in the points table. The team has a good mix of young and experienced players and will be hoping to make the playoffs this time. The team’s key players include Shikhar Dhawan, Sam Curran, Nathan Ellis, Sikandar Raza, Arshdeep Singh, and Bhanuka Rajapaksa.

Punjab Kings IPL 2023

Related Articles


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *