The women’s IPL puts other T20 leagues to shame even before it begins.

Just like the men’s IPL, the BCCI is earning a lot of money from the women’s IPL as well. It is not us saying so, but the figures.

Smriti Mandhana

The Indian Cricket Board (BCCI) had announced the women’s IPL last year. The first edition of the women’s IPL may be held in March this year, for which all preparations are being made. Massive broadcasting organisations and channels recently made bids for the media rights to the women’s IPL. But Viacom18 has won this race. Media rights for the upcoming 2023 to 2027 Viacom18 have got their names in total Rs 951 crore. That is, the value of one match is given as Rs 7 crore and Rs 9 lakh. In the context of women’s IPL, this is being described as a big step. Jay Shah, the secretary of the BCCI, commended Viacom in a tweet and called it a significant milestone for the next women’s IPL.Jai Shah tweeted,”Congratulations @viacom18 for winning the Women’s @IPL media rights. Thank you for your faith in@BCCI and @BCCIWomen. Viacom has committed INR 951 crores which means per match value of INR 7.09 crores for next 5 years (2023-27). This is massive for Women’s Cricket .”

Former BCCI president Sourav Ganguly had confirmed the launch of the women’s IPL last year.
A maximum of five overseas players may be seen participating in the playing XI in each of the 22 matches that make up this competition. In the past four years, three versions of the Women’s T20 Challenge have been played. It has been in existence since 2018. Although the Women’s IPL has yet to happen, this mega tournament has seen both Indian and foreign cricketers speak in favour of how the Women’s IPL can usher in and popularise women’s cricket.

Sourav Ganguly and Smriti Mandhana

The women’s IPL will start in March, with the final match being played before the men’s IPL. Who will have ownership rights over which team in the Women’s IPL? Many owners of IPL men’s teams, including many big companies, including Manchester United, want to buy a women’s IPL team. Its auction will be held on January 25, and the owners of the teams will also be announced on the same day.

Related Articles


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *