Connect with us

Cricket News

Zampa is reconsidering his red-ball future after being dropped from the India tour

After being left feeling “empty” by his exclusion again from Australia Test squad that will play India next month, Adam Zampa will reevaluate his future within red-ball cricket. Zampa was informed he had a good chance of going, but the selectors decided to keep Mitchell Swepson as that of the leg-spinner after he travelled to Pakistan and Sri Lanka in the previous year.

When Zampa played for New South Wales versus Victoria in slightly earlier December, he had his 1st first class encounter in three years and picked up three wickets.

[interactive_banner_2 banner_desc=”Adam Zampa in action” banner_image=”id^1405|url^|caption^Adam Zampa in action|alt^null|title^adam-zampa|description^null” banner_style=”style5″ image_opacity=”1″ image_opacity_on_hover=”1″]

Nevertheless, he also thought that his white-ball overall record would serve him well despite his unimpressive first-class performance, as he averaged 47.90.

“I’m quite dissatisfied. I wished I could have been there, “said Zampa.” There are 2.5 years until the following trip of the Indian subcontinent, so I’m not sure what comes next for me. I believed this to be my chance given how well I’ve been doing internationally in especially.” I was quite eager to perhaps join this tour and give it a try. My bowling style would have come in handy out there, according to the wording.

[ultimate_ctation]“That was exactly the word I got about 6 weeks back as well – that this one was likely to be a very excellent chance – but now that I’m not [going], I’m quite glum regarding it and it’s time to move beyond it,” he said, possibly due to a last-minute change of heart.[/ultimate_ctation]

The 2023 Australian Test Team for tour of India will consist of:

Pat Cummins (C), Steve Smith (VC), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey (WK), Cameron Green Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Matt Renshaw, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, and David Warner.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket News